Comm 460: My Valentine’s Day Rant!

I would like to take this blogging opportunity to talk about the one holiday that millions of people dread: Valentine’s Day. Though I am one of my lucky ones with a loving boyfriend, social media sites are flooded with anti-Valentine’s Day ramble. I guess in a sense, I understand where they are coming from because I have been the sad and lonely, love sick girl on Valentine’s Day, but sometimes enough is enough. Constantly complaining about Valentine’s Day will not do anyone any favor, and honestly at the end of the day it just simply makes someone look desperate. If some of these people spent half of their time that they complain being positive and getting themselves out there, maybe they would be a lot happier. I have no filter and sometimes people need to learn the hard way. Despite my bias because I have a loving boyfriend, it is still so annoying hearing the anti-Valentine’s day rants.

People need to learn that being positive is the most attractive trait anyone could have. Instead of getting mad, make light of the situation. You never know when the right person will see that and look, sparks begin to fly! Valentines is a happy, loving holiday, and some people take that too far when they get mad about it. In the movie Valentine’s Day the character played by Jessica Biel had an anti-Valentine’s day party and even though the name of the party was anti-Valentine’s day, they had fun drinking and being with friends and I believe that is the attitude that people need to have when dealing with Valentine’s Day. I did not mean this blog post to be mean or anything, just wanted to let it be known that even though Valentine’s day is the holiday of love, it is not the end of the world!

Below is a link to the video of the party from the movie!

http://youtu.be/xS8G9Qcze6g

-Jessica Wright

Leave a comment